MMEG: Bursaries 2025

Company: MMEG
Location: South Africa
Closing date: 14 September 2024

Please scroll down for more Details and Apply

MMEG: Bursaries 2025


Margaret McNamara Education Grants (MMEG) is a non-profit, public charity that has been established since 1981. MMEG supports and empowers women from developing countries by providing them with education grants, aiding them in establishing their personal future and the future of their country.


MMEG is inviting female students from South Africa, to apply for their bursary award for the 2025 academic year. The goal of the MMEG grant is to help women from developing countries, in order that they may further their studies and thereby improve the lives of women and children in these countries. MMEG is one of the few organizations that provides financial assistance and bursaries, specifically to women.


The award covers ALL fields of study, towards a Certificate, Undergraduate, Graduate or Post Doctorate qualification, at selected Universities. (female students from other countries may also apply if their country is on the MMEG Country Eligibility List).


MMEG provides a grant of up to US$7 000 (approximately R128 000), however grants may vary depending on the availability of funds and exchange rates. The grant funds will be awarded in February 2025.

Eligibility Requirements:

Applicants must satisfy the following minimum entry criteria before applying:

  • You must be a South African national (nationals from the following countries may also apply: MMEG Country Eligibility List)
  • You must have a study permit for South Africa, if applying from an eligible country other than South Africa
  • You must identify as a woman/ female
  • You must be 25 years old or older at the time of the application deadline
  • You must officially enrolled to study towards a Certificate, Undergraduate qualification, Graduate qualification or Post Doctorate studies
  • You must be enrolled full time or part time (with at least 2 courses per semester or term)
  • You must aim to be fully enrolled for a complete academic term after receiving the bursary
  • You must be enrolled for at least 1 more academic term after the award of the MMEG grant in December (from January to July 2025)
  • You must plan to graduate not more than 3 years after receiving the bursary
  • You must NOT be related to any International Monetary Fund, World Bank Group, or Inter-American Development Bank staff member, spouse, retiree, or MMEG Board member


You must be registered for in-person studies, at one of the following accredited Universities in South Africa:

  • Cape Peninsula of Technology,
  • Central University of Technology,
  • Durban University of Technology,
  • Mangosuthu University of Technology,
  • Fort Hare University,
  • Limpopo University,
  • Nelson Mandela University,
  • North-West University,
  • Rhodes University,
  • Sefako Makgatho Health Science University,
  • Sol Plaatje University,
  • Stellenbosch University,
  • Tshwane University,
  • University of Cape Town,
  • University of Johannesburg,
  • University of KwaZulu-Natal,
  • University of Mpumalanga,
  • University of Pretoria,
  • University of the Free State,
  • University of the Western Cape,
  • University of the Witwatersrand,
  • University of Venda,
  • University of Zululand,
  • Vaal University of Technology,
  • Walter Sisulu University

How to Apply

Click Here to Apply

Do you have a CV?

Create and Download a professional looking CV. It's as simple as entering your details. The system will use the details you entered to generate a professional looking CV which you can Download and use. Get started.

Send this to a friend via WhatsApp

Share on WhatsApp

Date listed: 2024-06-10 07:40:20 | Closing date: 2024-09-14 | Bursary/Accommodation | Location : Nation wide South Africa